Ashley Enright and the Brand New Year (3 of 8)

The first room that they walked into was the master bedroom. There was a magnificent four-poster bed in the center of the room. A desk by the front window had four pages from a stamp collection book on the top. Josh couldn’t contain his excitement. “Look! “ Josh almost shouted. “The sign says that you get all of these pages for only $10.”
“Is that a good deal, dear?” Gram asked.
“Sure!” answered Josh.
“Are those valuable?” asked Ashley.
“I’m not sure,” said Josh. “I’ll have to check my stamp book at home. But, my dad says that you should always get stamps when you see them and hold onto them.”
“Why?” asked Ashley.
“Because, they’re sure to increase in value over time,” answered Josh.
“Do you want to buy them?” asked Gram.
“You bet I do!” said Josh as he picked up the pages. “I’m glad I brought money with me. This is awesome!”
“Gee,” said Ashley. “You’re the one who was reluctant to come and you’ve already found a bargain!”
Josh blushed and said, “I know, sorry.”
“Don’t be sorry, my boy,” said Gram. “That’s what estate sales are all about – finding bargains!”
They crossed the hallway and went into another bedroom. There were children’s toys all around the room.
Ashley picked up an old-fashioned baby doll that had a porcelain face and eyes that opened and closed. “Oh, this is so precious, Gram,” she said to her grandmother.
“It reminds me of a doll that my mother used to have,” said Gram.
“Do you still have it?” Ashley asked.
“Hmm,” said Gram. “Now that I see this one, I remember that I do still have my mother’s doll. It’s in a trunk in the attic.”
“Maybe you should get this one,” said Ashley. “Then you’d have two porcelain dolls.”
“No, dear,” Gram answered. “I think it’s probably better if you get this one and then we’ll both have dolls. ‘
“Really?” asked Ashley.
“Absolutely!” Gram answered. “We’ll take the doll with us and pay downstairs.

Leave a comment